galvin bistrot de luxe, london

12345678

fair french in bond street. I’m not sure that’s an accurate description of galvin’s bistro, since I did completely love the experience. however, I’m pretty sure I’ve had better european elsewhere.

service was good – though the lady at the entrance was a little cold – we always had our glasses filled, and service was both warm and friendly.

we started off with a mushroom soup that was intensely-flavored, and worked so well with the crusty bread. the main was a squid ink gnocchi in a sort of seafood chowder; incidentally it was the first time I’ve had gnocchi and so I might not be a fair judge, but I thought the chowder was rich and very tasty but didn’t help mask the blandness of the gnocchi. I didn’t taste any of the squid ink, and it needed both salt and pepper so I could finish it. on a purely aesthetic note, the dish was just so attractive.

the meal ended on an amazing note though: a sophisticated sort of lava cake, except that here it was a firm mousse encapsulating a liquidy chocolate. it came with a sort of whipped cream which helped lift the richness of it. my friend had the cheese course, which was a large slab of brie – strangely with a whiff of cauliflower but tasty – with some raisin bread.

I’m not sure I’ll be back, but service was impeccable and it probably didn’t help the fact that I was late and hadn’t ordered the food myself. I think bistrot de luxe would be good for business lunches though.

Galvin Bistrot de Luxe on Urbanspoon

Square Meal

One thought on “galvin bistrot de luxe, london

  1. gnocchi just reminds me of mini hashbrowns. your blog makes me want to start my own! (though i don’t eat out as much recently ): )

Leave a Reply

