orange muffins






I know I haven’t posted a recipe for ages – but it’s not because I haven’t been baking! I do at least one thing a week – but between feeding people and processing photos and then remembering to note down the recipe, posting about it slips my mind. but today I’d like you to welcome my newest muffin pan, and one very shiny tray. got to love bakeware!

these are orange muffins – though really, they are an orange butter cake recipe that baked up into craggly topped muffins, and somehow turned out with a denser texture that are more akin to muffins. nurture (in the form of a muffin pan) overcomes nature.

but enough of my silly jokes. you’ll notice that the pan looks asymmetrical, and that’s because what you’re looking at is really only one-half of the pan. my brilliant dad helped with sawing the pan into half – he’s done this to my madeleine pan too – because this giant ikea pan refused to fit into my small oven. always good to have an engineer at home (of course, I conveniently forget that I’m one too, when it comes to matters like this).

just a bit more about the pan, just because it turns out such pretty and tall muffins. it’s know as the DRÖMMAR pan – I’ve always thought it’s cute how they have such blatantly scandiwegian names – and has rather thick sides and small, tall muffin compartments. I have a feeling that these pans would work best with recipes that are made to rise well – such as light sponges or actual muffins – which is why my butter cake turned out denser than I’d have expected.

this is the first time I’ve tried this recipe, and although it turned out a little too dense for our liking, and not spectacular enough for me to try it again, I’m willing to assume the density might be due to the pan. and so – if you give this a try, let me know how it turns out!

p.s. you’d have noticed in the second and third photo that I had placed crosses of butter atop the batter in the pan – I was trying encourage an aesthetically pleasing crack, and although it didn’t really work, I’m convinced it led to the craggly top, which was the best tasting bit.

orange butter cake (adapted from baking library)

100g unsalted butter, room temperature
75g sugar
70g egg
40ml juice
zest of 1 orange
100g self-raising flour

    1. preheat oven to 180C. grease a 12-cup muffin pan with butter.
    2. rub the orange zest into the sugar with your fingers, or the back of a spoon, until it is damp, orange in colour, and fragrant.
    3. cream butter and sugar on medium high for 5 minutes until pale and fluffy. add eggs separately, beating on medium, and the mixture ought to firm up.
    4. sieve flour directly into the bowl in three batches, alternating with the juice; fold gently after each addition.
    5. bake the muffins until they are golden and a tester comes out clean. cool the muffins for 5 minutes in the pan before releasing onto a rack to cool completely.
2 thoughts on “orange muffins

Leave a Reply

