melt – the world café, town (part 1)

probably the best buffet I’ve had in singapore – in spread and overall food quality . buffets are a tricky beast to photograph – so many things on offer, and the whole public exposure factor involved in toting a camera to every dish. too daunting – but I tried my best.

this is a photo post – largely because of the sheer volume, but in short: high quality food – not the best in themselves, especially if considered separately  – but very good for the fantastically large range on offer. even better than the line at the shangri-la, which has seen standards dwindling in the past years. heavy sticker on this one too, but we walked waddled away overstuffed and happy – so perhaps an occasional treat?

oh, and I haven’t mentioned their fantastic post-dinner sweet section eh? very impressive, this one – more on that in a later post today here!

.

oh, and they have a lovely garden outside near the barbecue area – very lovely.



there’s a lovely spread of bread and salads on offer – but I know most of you head straight to the cold seafood section:


which had a variety of four or five types of shellfish. rather fresh, and very good with tabasco. those lobsters were small but sweet enough.

I rather like the barbecued section better though – you see crayfish and prawns up there done to a neat char. seafood tastes so much better hot after a turn on the pit, and while the barbecue section was a little occupied (pitiful singular waiter grilling up everything), everything from the roast pork to the seafood made us happy.



they had a european section full of staub casseroles with stews and roast vegetables, all pretty good. especially that creamy seafood stew that went well with toast.



I did like how there were loads of vegetables though – something very often missing in buffets. these cauliflower florets were done up all tender and garlicky. I think I must have had thirds of these.


some beautifully lighted up go-betweens – a mixture of crackers, yorkshire pudding, crisps and toast.



they had a decent indian section too – the tandoori chicken wasn’t too dry, and went well with the raita and coriander on hand – but I think straits kitchen wins out here.


and a nominal section of east asian offerings – chinese cooked food and a japanese section with udon noodles and sushi. the sushi was rather paltry though – I’d say to keep the space for something else.

like the dessert table – that’s all coming up soon see it here!

we ate from when it was bright out, to when it was dark. the restaurant isn’t super modern, but rather homey old-school, good for large family dinners; it was noisy and vibrant, and everybody was kept happy with the spread of food.

it is probably one of the more expensive buffets, and so wasted on me – but if you have a decent appetite to satisfy, this will do you alright.

Melt – The World Café at Mandarin Oriental
Level 4, Mandarin Oriental Singapore
5 Raffles Avenue
Singapore 039797
tel +65 6885 3500
$$$$: (I think) eighty-plus-plus per person

p.s. part two on the dessert tables here.

13 thoughts on “melt – the world café, town (part 1)

    • I know! but shy, you know :P helps though that food photography is such a local thing.

      I didn’t have enough skin to take photos at my birthday lunch at jaan though :/ it felt too gauche!

      • hahaa, as nike says, Just Do It! the only time when I don’t take photos is when I’m dining with the big big boss. that would require a thick skin and an application for a new job! :p

  1. Pingback: melt – the world café, town (part 2) | andmorefood

    • wow.. is it a full buffet spread everyday? I tend to be a very boring breakfaster – the first few days I start adventurous, and then I end up with just fruit and cereal for every day after that!

  2. Not just a beast to photograph, but quite hard on the chefs as well. Consequently, food quality usually drops dramatically with buffets. I’ve been to a fair share of luxury hotel buffets & for lunch/dinner the equivalent of this, buffet at Ventaglio @ Mandarin Oriental Tokyo, remains my favorite.

    • that’s true, and the constant heating under the foodwarmers doesn’t help neither. I used to love them as a kid for the variety, but these days I find myself gravitating to just a bit of the roast on offer (which is still relatively fresh) – though I never seem to ‘make back’ how much you would pay for an at-least decent buffet.

      • Word. That’s one of the chefs’ cruxes, that they have to make food that stays halfway decent on the warmers.
        As to our great demise eating breakfast out is a thing unheard of in Japan, the hubby & I used to resort to the very good Conrad’s & Park Hyatt breakfast buffets. Other than that, I regularly frequent sweets buffets at lux hotels but there’s only about 2 in Japan that’re REALLY good [reviews upcoming, although who knows when…]. & on those occasions, I mos def make back what I paid ;)

  3. Pingback: cafe brio’s buffet, copthorne kings hotel | andmorefood

Leave a Reply

